Print Print Email Email Share Share

Michigan Aviation Hall of Fame

Michigan Aviation Hall of Fame logo

Established in 1987, the Michigan Aviation Hall of Fame is dedicated to preserving the history of outstanding air and space pioneers. Gilbert Cargill, William E. Gehman, Warren M. Hoyt, Herbert E. Swan and Jim Greshel founded the organization as a non-profit corporation in the state of Michigan. Michigan has made major contributions to aviation history. Since the days of the first flight, many individuals with deep Michigan roots have made aviation their life s work, while others have given their time, talent, energiesand insight. While the scope of their contributions vary, many of them are exemplary, and some have even changed the world. These are the individuals we wish to recognize through induction into the Michigan Aviation
Hall of Fame.

There is no competitive evaluation made of the importance of one achievement against
another. Each pioneer is honored for the specific contributions he or she has made to the advancement of aviation and space.The Michigan Aviation Hall of Fame (MAHOF) was established in 1987 to recognize men and women who have made significant contributions to aviation. It is located inside the Air Zoo.

2018 Enshrinees
View the 2018 enshrinees and their biographical information.

Award Presentation
Each year, the MAHOF inducts a new class of enshrinees in tandem with the Air Zoo Science Innovation Hall of Fame Awards.. Learn about attending this year's enshrinement ceremony and dinner by clicking HERE.

Who is in the Hall of Fame? See a complete list of MAHF enshrinees.

Interested in making a nomination? Learn how to here.

Smithsonian Institution Affiliations Program