Picture of Aircraft at the Air Zoo in Michigan

Science Innovation Hall of Fame Awards (SIHOF)

Air Zoo Science Innovation Hall of Fame Awards & Michigan Aviation Hall of Fame

Air Zoo Science Innovation Hall of Fame Award Trophies

Join us at the Gala Event of the Season Honoring our Region's Best and Brightest Educators, Students, and Aerospace Innovators!

We are excited to be hosting our 7th annual Science Innovation Hall of Fame Awards, which will take place on Saturday, April 18, 2020. Presented by Western Michigan University and combined with the Michigan Aviation Hall of Fame, this festive and interactive event recognizes West Michigan high school students, K-12 level educators, and local organizations and individuals who have innovated and excelled within, or shown exceptional support of, education in the areas of Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, and Mathematics (STEAM). In order to remain competitive in today’s global economy, it is critical for our youth to excel in these vital disciplines. With over ninety innovative educational programs, including classes, camps, field trips, and off-site outreach, the Air Zoo is spearheading STEAM initiatives in our region and highlighting local careers available in these important fields. Our hope is that the Science Innovation Hall of Fame Awards play a major role in encouraging local students and educators to embrace STEAM education, ultimately helping to ensure a thriving local economy for years to come. Special thanks to our sponsors!

We invite YOU to be a part of this amazing event!

Event Date & Time: Saturday, April 18, 2020, 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Event Location: The Air Zoo, 6151 Portage Rd, Portage, MI 49002

Contact Nate Melvin at (269) 350-2812 or HallofFame@airzoo.org with questions. 

Are you a high school student or K-12 educator pushing the boundaries of STEAM education? Then YOU may be just who we’re looking for! Email us today to be notified when applications for our 2021 Science Innovation Hall of Fame Awards are being accepted. 

Award Descriptions:

Science Students Working with DNAStudent Excellence Award - $500 Financial Award

The Student Excellence Award honors high school students who excel in the studies of science while also seeking to expand their knowledge and leadership skills outside of the classroom.

Student Art & Science Award - $500 Financial Award

The Student Art & Science Award recognizes a high school student who exemplifies the special harmony between arts and sciences.

Educator Excellence Award - $750 Financial Award

The Educator Excellence Award recognizes excellence and innovation in the teaching of STEAM subjects, the fostering of deep and meaningful student learning, and generation of exceptional student achievement.

Sponsorship Opportunities Available!

Show your support for our region's best and brightest Educators, Students, and Innovators! Download a sponsorship application HERE.  You or your company can play a major role in supporting Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, and Math education in our area!

To learn more about SIHOF and MAHOF please contact Nate Melvin, Air Zoo Director of Engagement, via email or at 269.350.2812.

A Special Thanks to our 2019 Event and Award Sponsors:
Aon * Clifford J. Mulder Retirement and Investment Planning of Raymond James * Bowers Aluminum *  CTS Telecom, Inc. * DeMent & Marquardt PLC * DENSO Manufacturing Michigan, Inc. * Esper Electric * First National Bank of Michigan * FM-106.5 WVFM * Great Lakes Drone Company * Kalamazoo/Battle Creek International Airport * Kalamazoo Community Foundation * KSS Enterprises * Millennium Restaurant Group * Miller Canfield *  Pete and Barbara Parish * Plante Moran * Quality Air * RAI Jets * Schupan & Sons, Inc. * Singh Automation * State Farm - The Rossi Agency * Stryker * The Tyler Little Family Foundation * Donna Ward * Dar Wellington * Western Michigan University * WowToyz, Inc. * WWMT-TV Newschannel 3 * Zoetis

Come visit us.

Purchase Tickets